Skip to content

Articles from May 2019

Twelve Individuals Recognized as 2019 Laveen Legends

The Laveen Elementary School District recognized 12 individuals as Laveen Legends. Each recipient was honored for their positive contributions to Laveen schools. Recipients are:

  • Liz Suarez, M.C. Cash volunteer
  • Daniel Magos, Laveen School crossing guard and volunteer
  • Sohani Alam-Ahmed, Vista del Sur PTO President
  • Marisol Henry, Trailside Pointe PTA President
  • Matthew Downs, Salvation Army
  • Jennifer Rouse, Rogers Ranch community member
  • Sharon Anderson, Laveen Lions Club
  • Jenni Urbatsch, Desert Meadows PTO member
  • Les Daviet, Laveen Lions Club
  • Susan Sanborn, Laveen Art League and Governing Board member
  • Congressman Ruben Gallego
  • Bill Adams, community member

An awards dinner, sponsored by EMC2,  Chasse Building Team, and Orcutt Winslow was held on May 15 in the Trailside Point Performing Arts Building.

Photos from the event can be found on our flickr page.

Read more

Laveen Recognizes 2019 Excellence in Education Recipients

Each year eight teachers from across the district are selected to receive the Excellence in Education Award. This prestigious award is given to those who attain high academic achievement for their students, provide exceptional service and leadership at their school, and make a positive difference outside of the classroom and in the community.

Congratulations to this year’s Excellence in Education recipients!

  • Nick Zarka, Cheatham
  • Steven Humble, Desert Meadows
  • Leah Hall, Laveen School
  • Shannon Gregory, M.C. Cash
  • Jessica Neill, Paseo Pointe
  • Jacquedda Valadez, Rogers Ranch
  • Joree Schneider, Trailside Point
  • Kristin Melton, Vista Del Sur
Read more

Desert Meadows 6th Grader Wins District Science Fair

Congratulations to Desert Meadows School 6th grade student Selasi Abaya who took the Grand Prize Award in the district science fair. Selasi engineered and demonstrated a food airdrop.

Each Laveen school sends their two science fair winners from each grade level (Grades 4-8) to compete at the district level fair. Ribbons were awarded to the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners from each grade level.

Congratulations to all of our winners listed below.

4th Grade
3rd Place— Laveen Elementary School: Sylas Brown
2nd Place— Desert Meadows School: Colin Mingo
1st Place— Vista Del Sur Accelerated Academy: Reagan Barragan

5th Grade
3rd Place— Rogers Ranch School: Creath Vickers
2nd Place— Trailside Point Performing Arts Academy: Valerie Martinez
1st Place— Vista Del Sur Accelerated Academy: Avery Normand

6th Grade
3rd Place— Rogers Ranch School: Isabella Serna, Yaretzi Menda-Meza, Dayanara Salasar, and Kimberly Garcia Corrles
2nd Place—Vista Del Sur Accelerated Academy: Erin Chicon
1st Place — Desert Meadows School: Selasi Abaya

7th Grade
3rd Place— Vista Del Sur Accelerated Academy: Samhith Padala
2nd Place—Trailside Point Performing Arts Academy: Alejandro Mendoza
1st Place— MCCash Elementary School: Jose Barraza Lopez

8th Grade
3rd Place—Vista Del Sur Accelerated Academy: Nikhil Johnson
2nd Place— Rogers Ranch School: Janney Gutierrez, Niftalem Halie, Aeralynn Inthisane
1st Place— Laveen Elementary School: Lizbeth Sanchez

Read more

Rogers Ranch is an A+ School of Excellence

Congratulations to Rogers Ranch School for being named a 2019 A+ School of Excellence by the Arizona Educational Foundation!

The A+ School of Excellence program is a comprehensive school assessment program that celebrates outstanding public schools. Schools complete an extensive application which is then followed by site visits by members of the AEF. The A+ School of Excellence™ designation is valid for a three-and-a-half-year period.

Rogers Ranch joins M.C. Cash School and Trailside Point Performing Arts Academy in receiving this prestigious award.

Representatives from the Arizona Educational Foundation will present the school with an official banner at a student assembly.

Read more

Arizona Supreme Court Justice Visits Trailside Point School

Arizona Supreme Court Justice Andrew Gould visited 7th grade Trailside Point students in conjunction with Law Day on May 1.

Justice Gould focused on the topic of freedom of speech. Trailside students enjoyed discussing the many ways Americans practice this freedom and appreciated hearing more about how free speech has evolved through history. Students examined a 1963 photo of Robert Kennedy speaking outside the U.S. Department of Justice and used it to discuss freedom of speech as a constitutional right in the United States and human right around the world.

Students asked the Justice many questions and enjoyed hearing about his upbringing and entering law school. He was an inspiration to many aspiring lawyers and judges in the room.

Law Day, held annually on May 1, is a national day set aside to celebrate the rule of law. Law Day provides an opportunity to understand how law and the legal process protect our liberty, strive to achieve justice, and contribute to the freedoms that all Americans share. It is promoted by the American Bar Association.

Read more